Listen and listen good

Next week, I’ll be flying to Cannes for the Cannes Lions week, one of the worldwide biggest advertising awards. I can’t wait to be there.

What’s an advertising award? Basically, it’s an award for the best talker. Correct me if I’m wrong but I don’t think there’s somewhere an award for the best listener and that’s a shame. So… Let’s launch this initiative from the blogosphere!

Here’s, in a nutshell, what I have in mind:

– Collect all your stories about brands that demonstrated an ability to listen and be responsive

– Create a separated blog to present the cases

– Make a little noise around the award (the concept is only viable if we receive a lot of cases)

– Make a monthly survey to present the listener of the month. In 12 months as from now, present the cases to a large audience (bloggers but also some non-bloggers) and elect the listener of the year.

Dear bloggers and friends, I would really like to read your feedback on this. What do you think about the idea? If you like it, what would be the best way to promote it? Do you already have cases in mind?

corwin_ear.jpg

This idea was inspired by Bring the love back and by Mack Collier’s blog checkup series. Thanks!

7 Responses to “Listen and listen good”

  1. Mack Collier Says:

    I love this idea Philippe, as it’s just the type of behavior that we should be encouraging, and applauding. You could even break it down into categories; “Best Response to a PR Crisis”, “Best Blogger Outreach Program”, you get the idea.

    Good stuff, or at the very least Philippe, you could start a series here highlighting companies that are listening, would be a great addition to your blog, the companies would appreciate it, and your readers would love it I’m sure.

  2. CK Says:

    Philippe: As we discussed, I love (!) this idea. It encapsulates everything I believe in and listening is the #1 way to better this profession. And I love that you’re opening it up to feedback (you’re listening😉. I do think this can, at least at first, be held on your blog as the idea gains steam.

    And I really love how you said so many ad awards are for the best talker. A tremendous and tremendously advancing idea…you have my full support😉.

  3. Philippe Says:

    Mack,
    Thanks a lot. I get the idea. It’s true that there’s a difference to be made between 1/ Monitoring and give appropriate answers and 2/ use social media to meet your consumers and start a dialogue with them
    CK,
    Thanks for your support. It means a lot to me!

  4. Ryan Karpeles Says:

    Awesome idea, Philippe. Let me know what I can do to help in any way possible. The biggest thing might be for all of us to continually be on the lookout for ‘great listeners.’ Make a note, think about it a little, and then submit the company and the situation.

    I know you won’t have much time (with Cannes coming up), but maybe we can formulate an official (and in Beta, of course) promo for this. Then we can all link to it on our own blogs and get some buzz goin’. Much like the Bloggers Social “initiative.” What do you think?

    Once again, well done on coming up with this idea🙂

  5. Philippe Says:

    Hi Ryan,

    I’d love to work out the official promo with you. I’ll be connected in Cannes. Let’s start a discussion by mail.

    I woudl be nice to have a nice logo as well. Any good graphist here?

  6. Transmission Content + Creative, Mark Goren, New Marketing Coach » Blog Archive » Would never have thought Says:

    […] is great at bringing people together, asking interesting questions and generating new ideas, like his idea for an awards show based on listening, rather than the ones that award talkers. Brilliant stuff over […]

  7. Dimple Neives Says:

    Thanks for sharing explanations and writing this article. Looking forward to more of your stuff. Hopefully you often update your site often since you have found a loyal visitor .

Leave a Reply

