Last transmission

wish-1.jpg 

All good things come to an end. Here comes the very last interview of the Blogger interview series and it’s Mark Goren, author of Transmission Marketing. I wish I wrote that🙂

1/ What was your first blog post ever?

7 November 2006: “Brand Health Care”. The idea behind the post was say that are many ways to treat a marketing problem and that if you’re agency doesn’t accept it when you challenge them, maybe it’s time to seek a second opinion. I still think it was a good inaugural post, but I’ll be the first to admit that it took some time for me to find my blogging legs after that one.

2/ What will happen with brands that are not entering the conversation?

They’ll lose out in end and, the thing is, they won’t know it. They won’t know it because if you don’t know what’s being said, you’re powerless to take advantage of the good and/or turn a negative into a positive. It’s our job to show them what they’re missing, teach them why it can help their company/brand and ultimately find a way to measure the effects of joining in.

3/ What is the next big challenge for online media owners?

I think that their biggest challenge lies in figuring out how to make their online ad revenues higher than their print edition ad revenues so they become less dependent on the broken model of traditional advertising. Once their online revenues outweigh their offline take, they can then become more creative in finding ways to help advertisers reach consumers in more targeted ways.

4/ What is the next big challenge for advertisers?

Getting out of the mindset that a bigger ad spend is better. I’d love to see more advertisers just put their toe in the waters and allocate a little bit of budget towards trying to target a more qualified audience online. I just can’t get past what I truly believe: that you can never get close enough to your customers to help them, engage them and build a relationship with them through traditional advertising. Advertisers have to learn that it’s about Give + Take, not Tell + Take.

5/What is the most relevant book/article/post ever written on new marketing?

Wow, this is a tough one. I’ve basically given myself on MBA on new marketing over the last little while. Anything written by Seth Godin is a good place to start. Cow, Moo, Permission, Ideavirus, Small, etc.. But then there are the other must-reads: Cluetrain, The Tipping Point, Naked Conversations, Creating Customer Evangelists + Citizen Marketers, these are all obvious. However, if you want new marketing ideas, case studies that move away from traditional solutions, I’d have to go with Jaffe’s Life After the 30-Second Spot. It’s the new marketer’s bible.

6/ What makes your blog different?

The best compliment I’ve received about the blog came from a reader in Ottawa. He told me that he enjoys how, from time to time, I use my other interests – sports, movies, TV – to bring home some points and keep things light. Of course, I don’t do that with every post, but I do find inspiration from a broad range of sources.

So, Philippe, how’d I do?

You did great, Mark, Thanks a lot!

The concept and the questions of those interviews are copyright-free. So, if you like taking this over, I’d be glad to see upcoming interviews on another blog.

7 Responses to “Last transmission”

  1. CK Says:

    Mark’s WIWT graphic looks great up there! I also love many of his series (like Folded Corners). And speaking of WIWT, what a great line by Mark here:

    “They won’t know it because if you don’t know what’s being said, you’re powerless to take advantage of the good and/or turn a negative into a positive. ”

    Yep, in missing out on the conversation the old adage of “ignorance is bliss” is flipped on its head. I often tell clients that even if negative things are said at least they’re being said for them to “hear”…which means they can act upon them. So Mark’s all over it with that line.

    I have really enjoyed this series😉.

  2. Philippe Says:

    CK, I enjoyed it as well😉

  3. Mark Goren Says:

    Thanks, CK. And Philippe!

    This series has been enlightening and fun. I think it’s important to applaud the companies that try. CC Chapman just spoke about that and so did a lot of us over at MPDaily Fix a week or so ago when Mack’s post started a wonderful conversation.

    What gets me, though, is that there are companies unwilling to try, which means they won’t listen. And what message are they sending when they don’t?

    CC’s post: http://tinyurl.com/yorlaf
    Mack’s post: http://tinyurl.com/yqs452

  4. Philippe Says:

    The message I receive from companies that are not listening (HP, Ikea,…) is “you’re not worthy” which is a dangerous attitude.

  5. Pietr Says:

    Philippe
    If you’re up for it, why don’t you answer the questions for yourself. I for one think you ‘ve got a nice story to tell as well…
    Btw: from my perspective, I would like to add question 4A: “What is the next big challenge for PR people?”

  6. Philippe Says:

    Hi Pietr,

    Thanks for the pings.

    Yes, I will also answer myself but I want to make it with a wrap up of the other answers.

    I like your question 4A (it’s a difficult one)

  7. Anandi Hristina Says:

    when they say it’s ove. Anandi Hristina.

Leave a Reply

