CK – Psyche

ck_poweredby_postcopy_4.gif  

The guest of the last chapter of the blogger-interview (first) trilogy is CK, the marketing hippie. Enjoy her answers!

1/ What was your first blog post ever?

When I first started I was so terrible at it that I deleted many posts (ha!). But my first one that I kept is my blog’s mantra. Just seemed natural to me that my blog should have one and it remains among my most popular posts. It explains how my blog is driven by (1) listening, (2) involvement and (3) ideas. The full explanation is here and I follow it everyday:

2/ What is the success metric you use for your blog?

I have only one metric: relationships (NOT rankings). This metric drives the lessons, fulfillment and success I experience as a result of blogging. As I tell others, and tell them frequently, “Don’t focus on how well your blog is ranked, focus on the relationships you make through blogging. Rankings come and go, but relationships evolve into colleagues and friends (if you treat them with respect and care).”

3/ What is the next big challenge for online media owners?

Share. It’s the “Share Economy” (I explain it here) and media owners are going to need to share more of their assets (be it to entice new audience members or to encourage users to create more media from their assets, like parodies and the like). Media owners need to understand when they “let go,” or share, it is then that they are engaging and truly building bonds with their customers. Fear plays a big part here. But what, praytel, exists on the other side of fear? A bevy of opportunity.

4/ What is the next big challenge for advertisers?

Listening. They need to stop telling us what we want (yawn). They need to start listening to us tell them what we really want. Sure, it’s going to need to be a dialog, but first advertisers need to zip their lips and use their ears, not their mouths. Huge challenge but again, huge opportunity. My best advice to marketers? Listen to your markets, it’s amazing what they’ll teach you (and for free!).

5/ What is the best marketing blog in the blogosphere (except yours)?

The whole of the ‘sphere is greater than the sum of its parts…if I mention some I’ll kick myself for leaving out others. There are several on my blogroll but I add more everyday.

6/ What makes your blog different?

I cover a range of topics (e.g. strategy, tactics, social media, advertising, etc.) but will give you the words that I’ve heard from others – they find my writing smart and informative but entertaining. They feel they get to know not just best practices–but the personality behind the blog. Exactly as it should be given I’m blogging in order to share with my audience since they’re so generous to give me their time and good thoughts.

7/ Does it make a difference to be a woman?

I can’t answer this…being I’ve never been a man. I’m only afforded my (female) vantage point. I’ve certainly not been more timid than male bloggers about the subject matter I’ve posted on—and, that said, I’ve been silly, too. Actually, it’s probably because I’ve been brave + silly that readers keep coming back. You just never know what you’re gonna get on any given day (hey, the element of surprise is truly a girl’s best friend).

Thanks CK!

7 Responses to “CK – Psyche”

  1. CK Says:

    thank you, Philippe. I really enjoyed being a part of your great series–I hope what I’ve learned will help others. I certainly don’t know all but I’ve sure learned a ton thanks to the generosity of great minds/bloggers😉.

  2. Useful Lunacy Says:

    Why, indeed?

    Philippe at Bad Idea, Indeed has assembled a really nice collection of interviews with various bloggers: Mack Collier, Valeria Maltoni and CK. I’m intrigued by their motivations to blog (Philippe, when are you going to answer the questions you posed

  3. Mack Collier Says:

    “media owners are going to need to share more of their assets (be it to entice new audience members or to encourage users to create more media from their assets, like parodies and the like). Media owners need to understand when they “let go,” or share, it is then that they are engaging and truly building bonds with their customers. Fear plays a big part here. But what, praytel, exists on the other side of fear? A bevy of opportunity.”

    Amen, and hopefully we will start to see the curtain begin to get pulled back so that the opportunities can be exposed. There are more and more examples of these fan-created spoofs and content being uploaded to YouTube and then resulting in a spike in interest in the show they spoofed. Eventually the big media companies may just realize that many of us can market their offerings better than they can!

  4. Bob G Says:

    Zounds – a marketing hippie? That might stick CK – one of the beauties of your blogging IS the range of topics. Your readers (audience? market?) never know whats about to come up next. Keep on with being uniquely you…not that any of us can do anything about uniqueness.

  5. Mark Goren Says:

    Really enjoyed this series, Philippe. Keep ’em coming!

  6. General Pattern Says:

    CK: Tout le plaisir est pour moi

    Mack: Another challenge for the media owners is to cope with the market schyzophrenia. Advanced users, willing to join the conversation and media agencies buying advertising space based on selectivity and context

    Bob: thanks a lot for your kind words. I really liked the highlights you made.

    Mark: if you agree, you’re next😉

  7. Gavin Heaton Says:

    I love “a bevy of opportunity”. CK is one smart woman! And she also balances her sharp intelligence with astounding energy, enthusiasm and even some silliness.

    Great series Philippe!

Leave a Reply

