The free (conversation) agent

conversationagent_2.jpg

After Mack Collier, please welcome the second guest of the Blogger-interview series: Valeria Maltoni. Like I did for Mack, I publish the answers without further comments.

1/ What was your first blog post ever?

My first post wasn’t on a blog at all. I started moderating the listserv for Fast Company magazine readers’ network in early 2000 and have sent many a blog-formatted messages to the group over the years. The first post on my own blog is dated September 1, 2006 and outlined what the blog would be about. It’s still valid today as it was then.

2/ What is the success metric you use for your blog?

Success to me means keeping your promises. When I set out to start a conversation with my blog, I promised the appointment with fresh content would be daily, except Saturdays. I have kept that promise posting twice a day only on a few occasions. Part of the promise was to connect ideas and people — and I think I continue to do that.

3/ What is the next big challenge for online media owners?

Staying fresh and relevant. And understanding that co-creation and content generation can be a company’s most valuable assets. I’m not talking about leveraging, what I’m saying is that especially online, losing a certain degree of control is good for business.

4/ What is the next big challenge for advertisers?

Finding more ways to stop interrupting and start being part of the conversation. Maybe it means sponsoring event that make sense to their brands.

5/ What is the best marketing blog in the blogosphere (except yours)?

There are so many. I think the best blogs are those that feel genuine. They reflect the imprint of the person behind the writing, the experience of the professional sharing the advice, the spirit of someone trying new things in a transparent environment.

6/ What makes your blog different?

Me. Seriously, there is a certain quality you get from reading someone’s writing and thought process in this format that you don’t usually get in other media. Less polished means also that spontaneity leads to a stronger voice. What makes a blog different than a piece of literature, especially one coming from an organization, is that usually the blog is one voice, while the brochure is the result of a committee getting their two cents in.

7/ Does it make a difference to be a woman?

Maybe less online than in the corporate world. I do not know if the way I see the world and write about it is different because I am who I am or because I am a woman. My view is shaped by experiences that are only mine. I’m a natural connector: of information, people, ideas, internal and external, marketing and communications, sales and marketing, company and customers, etc. My space is the intersection of languages, cultures, ways of learning and doing things.

Thanks, Valeria!

Don’t hesitate to use the questions on your own blog. I’m curious to read other answers.

5 Responses to “The free (conversation) agent”

  1. Valeria Maltoni Says:

    Merci, Philippe. I do not know if I’m free, although freedom is pretty high on my ‘to be’ list. The way I look at ideas and the world is filled with originality and sometimes even heresy — and that can be viewed as expensive.

    It might be the reason why I am also difficult to put in a bucket. Marketing, sales, communications, organization development, philosophy, pure strategy all apply to the main thought that one should have passion for business *and* for people. Why sacrifice one of the two?

    I’ll be curious to see who visits today.

  2. Mack Collier Says:

    Very interesting Valeria, and looking forward to the rest of the series, Philippe!

  3. General Pattern Says:

    I already received CKs answers for tomorrow. It’s funny to see 3 different personalities and 3 different tones of voice. It’s a great trilogy…

  4. Bob G Says:

    Valeria – your responses are the final ones I read from the triumvirate🙂 Response number 4 – stop interruption advertising – makes great sense. Nobody likes being interrupted. One day we will learn.

    Great series of questions Phillipe

  5. Michael Says:

    Everyone believes themselves to be unique. sometimes they really are. So, what makes you that way.

Leave a Reply

