Bring the love back: What’s next?

It’s maybe too soon to do the aftermath of the Bring the love back action but I thought that 10.000 views on dailymotion was a good opportunity to talk about this case.

I won’t make a recap of the full genesis of the project (everything is on bringtheloveback.com). Geert, who carried the project from start to end also initiated the viral aspect of the campaign. Geert received the video wednesday at 7.30 PM CET and posted it immediatly on dailymotion and the movie was embedded on the bringtheloveback blog.

The first thing we did after the posting of the video was to send a mail to a limited number of contacts (about 15) of the blogosphere. Not only class-A bloggers but only good bloggers (some of them, despite an excellent blog have an authority 1 on technorati). The rule wasn’t their power of influence but the fact we had a real relation with them (I already have had online discussion or a mail discussions with all bloggers in my list).

For that kind of action, I guess you need a little piece of luck. In my blog post, I wrote that I was hoping that David Armano (who wasn’t in our short mailing list) would like the video. David is obviously a king of monitoring and reacted immediatly in my comments, posted the video on L+E and twittered about it. This was the real start of the virality. Thanks to David, the video was taken over by major blogs like Jaffejuice, Beyond Madison Avenue, futurelab, marketingfacts, successcreeations, whatsnext, servant of chaos and many others. Other major bloggers like CK, Craphammer or Technomarketer helped us big time.

But is it really a success? For the figures, I have not enough benchmarks in B2B viral actions and, honestly, I don’t really care and I don’t believe it’s a metric of success.

I care about the many conversations that are happening on all the blogs, the friendly confrontations between the enthusiasts, the surprised ones, the sceptics and the Microsoft-haters.

I care about what will happen next: How will we (Microsoft international) build on this, change our image, fullfil the promises, continue the conversation, draw and share conclusions.

Bringthelove back is allmost a one-man project. Geert worked on this with vision, method, creativity, guts and belief and managed to transform our Microsoft Belgium positioning in a worldwide conversation on advertising and the place of Microsoft in the online advertising landscape. Thumbs up, my friend!

12 Responses to “Bring the love back: What’s next?”

  1. Rolling Talks Says:

    Bravo! but I said it before🙂 i can’t resist to ask you how you are monitoring what’s being said.. sorry, u kind of understand i guess that comes to be one of my major concerns these days😉
    no news from Dell btw😉

  2. General Pattern Says:

    No news from Dell, indeed.

    For the monitoring, Geert takes the lead but thanks to technorati, with a little help from search engines and by watching the trackbacks and the pingbacks, we can see a lot of what is being written.

  3. geertd Says:

    We’ll definitly come back on the monitoring of this campaign…it’s still a bit early. And if we have it, we will share it, of course!

  4. Rolling Talks Says:

    Glad to read that!

  5. CK Says:

    “I care about the many conversations that are happening on all the blogs, the friendly confrontations between the enthusiasts, the surprised ones, the sceptics and the Microsoft-haters.”

    And this is why you get it (and why I am so fortunate to have you as my friend and colleague). THIS is what it’s about–collaborative discussion on a core belief we all share. The core belief? That we all want this industry to improve. You nailed it, friend.

  6. General Pattern Says:

    CK: Yes, yes and yes! I totally agree. The internet media is certainly the richest one (I’m not talking about money :)), the most complex and the youngest. we are still pioneering, learning and optimizing and I’m glad that it happens beyond the corporate borders

  7. CK Says:

    You have it right, friend. It is my fortune to know you through this rich medium (I’m talking the riches that count!).

  8. General Pattern Says:

    I copy this one in my brand new “happy file”🙂

  9. Toby Says:

    Brilliant. One of the best explanations of the changing consumer and her (his) needs. And what this ‘conversation stuff’ is all about. I’m doing a lot of workshops to marketers including one with the AMA that will be brought to 3 markets in the U.S. this fall. I would love to inlcude your video in the presentations. Anyway to make that happen?

  10. General Pattern Says:

    Hi Toby,

    I’ll send you a link to a downloadable version of the video (if Geert agrees :)). It’s on another computer. I’ll send it on monday.

    (If I forget, don’t hesistate to post a little reminder)

  11. Bring the love back Says:

    […] https://badideaindeed.wordpress.com/2007/05/18/whats-next/ Etiquetas: segundo semestre fernanda midia social campanha CS4A bring the love back 2009.2 publicidade opinioes Enviar a um amigo | | Comentar Nome * E-mail * […]

  12. stage.youareaceo.com Says:

    Hey there! This post could not be written any
    better! Reading this post reminds me of my previous room mate!
    He always kept chatting about this. I will forward this post to him.

    Pretty sure he will have a good read. Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

