Dell-icate

2 weeks ago, I published a post entitled “Dell Hell strikes back“. Even if, as described in the post, I had a little troubleshoot with my old Dell, my point wasn’t to be negative about Dell. It was a very old laptop, it was a Murphy’s law day and I may have been voodood. My post title was more a reference to Jeff Jarvis than an attack against Dell.

Yesterday, I had one comment on the Dell post. Here it is:

Hello,

My name is Rick, I’m a Dell Technical Analyst located at Dell corporate headquarters in Round Rock, TX. I’m part of an internet outreach team developed to interact with the online community regarding technical questions and issues that customers face with Dell products. I read your post and I understand how tough a presentation can be when your notebook chooses not to work and you are left to improvise. Hopefully the issues with your Dell have been taken care of, but if there is anything I can do to assist please email me at Customer_Advocate@Dell.com (and put “Attn Rick” in the subject line)

Thanks,
Rick

Of course, I knew that Dell was a monitoring champion. Still, I’m surprised they took the time to read my post (the answer of Rick is personalized) and react. My blog is still brand new and I’m not an influential blogger. My blog is far from the top 100.000 of the Technorati ranking. So, thanks a lot Rick for your comment.

Dell is watching me… and I kinda like it

8 Responses to “Dell-icate”

  1. Rolling Talks Says:

    They learned it the hard way but they’ve learned it🙂 can you tell me more about their monitoring methodology?

  2. General Pattern Says:

    Hi Caroline,

    I don’t really know but what I can see in my dashboard is that visits are coming from technorati and that my post has been syndicated on a dell site: http://fusion.us.dell.com/Fusion/Core/update.aspx?id=4592192
    (I can’t reach it right now… seems to be down)

    I assume there is a ticket/flag system based on the dell fusion incoming feed.

    Like you, I’d like to learn more about their monitoring workflow

  3. Rolling Talks Says:

    Maybe they’ll provide some answers: Dell, still listening ?🙂
    i’ll investigate a bit- will let you know if i find anythind interesting

  4. narrowband Says:

    I know what you’re talking about. I’m getting hits from that URL too. It’s

    http://fusion.us.dell.com/Fusion/Core/preview.aspx?id=5145597

    And yeah I wrote a post about my Dell laptop. I tried to reach the url but it’s not accessible (appears to be down). After reading your entry on this one, I’m positive that they block access to the URL intentionally, as it’s not meant for the public at large (probably).

    I reached your site after googling that ‘fusion.us.dell.com’ keyword (I’m sure your traffic monitor has already told you this).

  5. General Pattern Says:

    narrowband, you’re probably right about the fact they block the url

  6. chengdigger Says:

    Today, I had a similar experience today after writing a couple posts about some repair troubles I was having with Dell to explain why I was falling behind with my site. I found this page after searching for fusion.us.dell.com. I guess they are full-force with reputation management.

  7. pseudotecnico:blog » Dell ascolta (controlla) i blogger? Says:

    […] faccia parte di una intranet e si mette a cercare su Google alla ricerca di una risposta. Ecco un paio di risultati con la soluzione: Dell scandaglia il web alla ricerca di blogger alle prese con […]

  8. Yet Another Tech Blog » Does Dell read blogs? Says:

    […] of Intranet application. After a quick Google search, I found that maybe I wasn’t so far from the truth: Dell’s customer care reads blog posts about problems with Dell computers and contacts […]

Leave a Reply

