My bitch eats soja

There was a very interesting discussion yesterday on CKs blog about cursing and incorrect vocabulary in hip hop. This inspired me a post about values carried by advertising.

I saw yesterday the TV spot below (the advertiser is Sojasun) on a major french network. It’s one (and not the worst) in a disgusting serie.

I really hate this commercial and don’t want this product in my fridge no matter what is taste. In another spot for the same brand, a father punishes his son, who hasn’t done anything wrong, just to steal his desert. This kind of communication disturbs me big time. Don’t get me wrong, I earn my salary thanks to advertising, I like disruptive communication and I’m not a politically correctness advocate but I don’t get why some values are used so much in advertising: greed, envy, jealousy, competition, revenge, humiliation, lack of citizenship, egoism, and other basic instincts. Twix (or was it rolo?) used the same mechanisms for their “too good to share” campaign.

I understand that advertising is based on archetypes and often transgression and that a 30 seconds format requires very simple messages but come on, there must be other ways.

To conclude on that point and counterbalance the anti-values, here’s a quote of the Dalai Lama : “If you want others to be happy, practice compassion. If you want to be happy, practice compassion”

2 Responses to “My bitch eats soja”

  1. Advertising Razzies « Bad idea, indeed Says:

    […] – The Destroy Tibet, for the commercial carrying the worst values […]

  2. Tlyzuczg Says:

    rsqzzw comment4 ,

Leave a Reply

