Thanks for asking!

question-mark.jpg 

I spend about 50% of my time at work preparing and giving training sessions in Belgian branches of big corporations. The topics of the trainings I’m giving for the moment are “deep dive in cyberculture” and “Best practices in digital marketing”. I really enjoy doing those presentations especially for the Q&A following my lectures.

Here is what I see as the FAQs of the advertisers today. I believe this apply beyond Belgium.

How far should I go in the dialogue with the users? Can I accept controversy on my website? What moderation level is acceptable?

Is online advertising making sense without a decent website?

Are there examples of 2.0 initiatives made by traditional brands that went totally out of hand?

How can impressions be compared to television GRPs?

How intrusive should I be? (expandable formats, videos with sound on by default)

What does interaction rate (only available for rich media formats) tell me about the impact of my campaign?

– Does the long tail change anything to the way I should communicate with my target group? 

Why on earth do people use sites like second life?

Of course, I also get a lot of questions about ROI and measurements. I have (my) answers to those questions based on some hard facts, experience and a little common sense. I’ll post about that in the coming days but if you feel that you have a relevant contribution to make, please shoot.

13 Responses to “Thanks for asking!”

  1. You can never go far enough « Bad idea, indeed Says:

    […] can never go far enough The first question of my FAQ was “How far should I go in the dialogue with the users? Can I accept controversy on my […]

  2. What's on an advertiser's mind? « ‘Cross The Breeze Says:

    […] at some of the bigger companies in Belgium. This results in an a list of frequent asked questions that he shared with us on his (interesting blog). Here they […]

  3. Bad idea, indeed Says:

    […] second question of my FAQ was “Is online marketing making sense without a decent […]

  4. Del.icio.us op 3 april 2007 — Michel Vuijlsteke's Weblog Says:

    […] – Thanks for asking! « Bad idea, indeed (tags: […]

  5. Be careful what you ask for « Bad idea, indeed Says:

    […] careful what you ask for Before answering to the third question the FAQ (Are there examples of 2.0 initiatives made by traditional brands that went totally out of hand?), […]

  6. Pietr Says:

    The first three answers look promising. I’ll be coming back to check on your next answers !

    Pietr

  7. The revolution will be no re-run, brothers « Bad idea, indeed Says:

    […] The revolution will be no re-run, brothers I’m going a few days on holidays. I’m not sure I’ll be able to find unsecured wireless networks where I go. Even if I don’t connect, I’ll work on the remaining 5 questions of the FAQ. […]

  8. To the second degree of separation « Bad idea, indeed Says:

    […] the second degree of separation One month after launching this blog, the post “thanks for asking” is by far the top post on this blog thanks to several incoming links and thanks to te […]

  9. Transmission Content + Creative, Mark Goren, New Marketing Coach » Blog Archive » QAD: Advertisers want to know - 4 Says:

    […] once again in response to Kris Hoet’s request. These questions, by the way, originated at Bad Idea, Indeed. Kudos to Philippe for putting these together based on experience with his […]

  10. see me, feel me, touch me, hear me... remember me « Bad idea, indeed Says:

    […] rate is dead… Long live the interaction rate. That’s what the sixth question of the FAQ is about: What does interaction rate tell me about the impact of my […]

  11. The day of the long tail « Bad idea, indeed Says:

    […] quote is the ideal introduction to the seventh question of the FAQ: “Does the long tail change anything to the way I should communicate with my target […]

  12. You can hide again « Bad idea, indeed Says:

    […] good things come to an end. Here comes the last question of the digital marketing FAQ: Why on earth do people use sites like second life? I confess that I never went to SL. I have no […]

  13. Johnd477 Says:

    I think you have observed some very interesting details , appreciate it for the post. cbfaekkeeaeg

Leave a Reply

